• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Four Provinces Come to Mullinahone Sept 5th

E-mail Print PDF

People passing through Mullinahone on Friday last might have guessed that some major local event was about to take place. They could hardly have failed to notice the green and red bunting across Kickham Street.

There was definitely a festive air about the village. To those who were not in the know, all was revealed before Saturday morning when Tipp FM and the local newspapers proclaimed a monster under 12 and under 10 hurling tournament. Events began early on Saturday morning with a parade of the competing teams through the village from the Knocknagow community centre to the local GAA sports field.

The 20 competing teams in club or county colours were led through the village by the Moycarkey pipe band. A number of the teams carried their club banners. Spectators in the street gave an enthusiastic welcome to the visitors Cappataggle in Galway represented Connacht while from Leinster came Windgap, Piltown and John Lockes, Callan, all from Kilkenny and Myshall from County Carlow. Munster had Fermoy in Cork, Cappaquin in Waterford and many, many more from other counties.

During the day, almost 40 hurling and ground hurling games tool place using five different pitches. Tipp FM broadcast the event.

 It was from Tipp FM we got the good news that a Tipperary ladies football team, which included Mairead Luttrell and Eileen Brennan from Mullinahone, had won their All- Ireland football semi final against Wexford. Well done girls.

President of the GAA, Nickey Brennan, presented the trophies to the winning young hurlers. On display with the winners trophies during the day were the Croke Cup (national hurling league) and the Munster cup. The young hurlers were delighted to meet Tipperary hurlers Brendan Cummins, Alan Fanning, Pat Kerwick, Paul Curran and Oisin Kelly.

While everybody was a winner on the day, the winners and runners ups in the different competitions were under 12 winners John Lockes, Kilkenny, runners up Fermoy, Cork. Under 10 ground hurling winners Piltown, Kilkenny, runners up Ballingarry. Tipperary shield winners, Mullinahone, Tipperary, runners up Skeheenarinka, Tipperary.

A word of thanks to the Gardai who saw to it that everything was conducted in safety.


A very strange and wet August has come to an end. July ended with some days of heavy rainfall and the trend continued into August. The last twenty days of the month gave us 168mm of rain.

I suppose that we can all look forward to an Indian summer now that the young people have returned to school.


Opportunities are never lost.

Someone will take the one you miss.


The last draw tool place on Monday, August 25th.

The numbers drawn were:

2, 21 & 27

We didn’t have a jackpot winner but two tickets shared the match 3 prize of €150.

Congrats to Wayne Foran, Cathal & Granny.

Next weeks draw on Monday, September 8th could have a jackpot worth €9,800.

Bridge for Beginners

If you are interested in learning to play bridge and missed the September 3rd gathering in the community centre, don’t despair.

Just contact one of the local bridge players and you’ll be pointed in the right direction.


Well done to both Lorraine and Aoibhe O Shea of Mohober. Both represented Tipperary in the National Community Games finals in Mosney during August.Lorraine won the gold medal in the long jump with a great leap of over 5m. Aoibhe won her way to the under 10 hurdles final where she finished 5th.

Congrats to both girls. Perhaps we have budding Olympians among us for London or beyond.

Parish News

Sympathy to Ann Marie Vaughan, Ballydonnell, on the death of her brother Johnnie Murray of Killamery. Masses next weekend, Saturday Sept 6th at 8pm.

Months mind for Michael Joe Boland, Ballyvoneen, Saturday Sept 6th, anniversary 8pm, Bridie and James Hogan and Paddy Holden, Ballinacloghy, Sunday September 7th, 11.30am, Aisling Murray

Co. Councillors

Last week we traced for you the representation from Mullinahone on South Tipp County Council in 1905. PF. Mullally of Kyleaglanna, was chairman of that council until he finally bowed out in 1908. Patrick Keating was returned unopposed in 1908, as he was in 1911 and 1914.The council elected in 1914 held office for six years until 1920.

At that time, Patrick Keating who came from Crohane Upper had been a councillor for 15 years. The modern council format of multiple members came into force in 1920. Mullinahone became part of the Fethard area in which nine candidates contested the four seats on offer.

Patrick Keating again contested the election as did Philip Mansfield of Mullinahone. Both exceeded the quota of 406 and were elected. Both were Sinn Fein candidates. At its first meeting this council unanimously pledged its allegiance to the infant Dail Eireann, which had first met in 1919.

Patrick Keating was one of only three members who were re-elected to this post. Sinn Fein councillor on May 18th, 1921, Thomas Tobin was co-opted to the Council in place of Philip Mansfield.

The council passed a resolution calling on Dail Eireann to accept the treaty. The next election took place in 1925. prior to the election he announced his retirement after 20 years of service.


Who's Online

We have 65 guests online


Knock na gow
Knocknagow or the Homes of Tipperary By Charles J. Kickham

South Tipperary
South Tipperary, 1570-1841: The Land, Region and Rivalry

 Sally Kavangh
Sally Cavanagh; Or the Untenanted Graves: A Tale of Tipperary
By Charles J. Kickham

Random Image

No images

Latest Comments



"And I wouldn't much care for Sierra Leone, If I hadn't seen Killenaule
And the man that was never in Mullinahone,
Shouldn't say he had travelled at all."


poet. C.J. Boland