• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Mullinahone CJK 3-16 Carrick Swan 0-13

E-mail Print PDF


Mullinahone CJK 3-16 Carrick Swan 0-13

"Bob Fitzgerald” South Tipp U21A hurling championship

Report by Ricky Sheehan

When referee Noel Cosgrave sounded the final whistle in Anner Park Cloneen on Sat. afternoon in this U21A hurling clash Mullinahone CJK were twelve points ahead of Carrick Swan. This score-line was unfair to the Carrick lads as they were much closer to Mullinahone than the final score suggests. Indeed for periods the young Carrick side hurled much better than their more experienced rivals. However the Swans lacked one vital skill which their opponents used to telling effect i.e. the ability to convert chances into goals. It was the three goals that Mullinahone scored in the game that made all the difference. The first two were scored in a seven minute spell either side of the break and they provided a cushion for Mullinahone all during the 2nd half as Swan sought to come back at them. The third goal scored by county senior panelist Sean Curran in added time only widened the gap between the sides but the game had been won and lost long before then

Conditions were excellent when Noel Cosgrave threw in the ball. An autumn sun was welcomed by the quite large crowd who had come to Anner Park in the expectation of a good game of hurling. Underfoot may have been soft in places due to the recent heavy rains but both sides came quickly to terms with this. Cathal Horan opened the CJK account with a point in the very first minute. Bill Barrett replied. In five minutes Mikey Loughman pointed a Swan free, but Diarmuid O’Halloran levelled from midfield three minutes later. Eoin Fennelly pointed C.J.K into the lead but after another three minutes another Barrett point levelled. We had six minutes without a score but Eoin Fennelly scored the first of four Mullinahone points in 18 minutes.

Cathal Horan from a free, Fennelly from a free for a foul on himself and Jack Shelly were the other point scorers. Then Lee Wall and Diarmuid O’Halloran exchanged points. Sean Curran had been injured sometime previously which resulted in Dean Murphy receiving a yellow card. In the 27th minute Denis Connolly came on as a blood sub for Eoin Fennelly. Within a minute Jack Shelly combined well with Sean Curran and Shelly slammed to the Carrick net. Danny Luttrell was booked and Lee Wall and Mikey Lonergan replied to the Mullinahone goal with points in the run up to the interval. Half time Mullinahone C.J.K 1-08, Carrick Swan 0-04.


Overplay in the fourth minute could have cost Mullinahone but a lucky break saw Tony Treacy get a chance and he duly goaled. Sean Curran followed up with a point. In the sixth minute Richie Walsh in the Mullinahone goal made a good save and cleared well under pressure. In the next minute Mikey Lonergan showed great skill when he cut a line ball over the Mullinahone crossbar. Jack Shelly replied for C.J.K as he began to come more and more into the game. Swan sent on Martin Griffin. Swan got on top around the middle of the field and shot four points in a row from Lonergan (2) Dale O’Mahony and then Bill Walsh. At this stage Mullinahone’s two goal cushion was proving most valuable.

In the 18th and 20th minutes we saw two pieces of great skill from Eoin Fennelly as he knocked down two high balls, the first to Jack Shelly and then to Denis Connolly. Both pointed as Swan began to fade. Evan Hogan came on for Swan. Tony Treacy pointed as did Sean Curran. Bill Walsh who had earlier seen yellow with Gary Cronin then got a second yellow. Jack Shelly placed Sean Curran for a point. Mikey Lonergan replied. Mullinahone added a goal and a point the goal coming from Curran as time ran out. Another Lonergan point closed Swan’s account and Curran’s goal was the last score for Mullinahone. Final score Mullinahone C.J.K 3-16, Carrick Swan 0-13.

As stated, Swan didn’t deserve to lose by 12 points. They played some very skillful hurling around the middle of the field. They were however unable to breach the Mullinahone backline which was well held together by Gary Cronin. Keith Mullally also played well at full back as did George Browning in the 2nd half. The loss of Diarmuid O’Halloran before half-time was a blow but his replacement Denis Connolly certainly staked a first team place. Both teams in this four team group can look forward to their remaining league section games with Moyle Rovers and Ballybacon with a degree of confidence.



C.J.K. Mullinahone - Richie Walsh Jack McCarthy Keith Mullally Paul Gayson David Walzer Gary Cronin Luke Mullally Eoin Fennelly Diarmuid O’Halloran Danny Luttrell Sean Curran Jack Shelly Tony Treacy George Browning Cathal Horan

Carrick Swan - Colm Lonergan John Joe Ryan Dale O’Hanlon Dean Murphy Jamie Long Jack Walsh Colm Loughnan Mikey Loughman Dale O’Mahony Damian McCarthy Bill Barrett

Referee Noel Cosgrave (Marlfield)




Knock na gow
Knocknagow or the Homes of Tipperary By Charles J. Kickham

South Tipperary
South Tipperary, 1570-1841: The Land, Region and Rivalry

 Sally Kavangh
Sally Cavanagh; Or the Untenanted Graves: A Tale of Tipperary
By Charles J. Kickham

Random Image

No images

Latest Comments



Mass Times:

Saturday Vigil:         8.00pm

Sunday:                  9.30am & 11.30am

Dailymass Mon to Fri 10.00am